Countdown to the event


Entries from fourteen nations at the CSIO3* of Gorla Minore, Italy, witness the great demand for the return to play

20 April 2021

Entries from fourteen nations at the CSIO3* of Gorla Minore, Italy, witness the great demand for the return to play

With Brazil and Ireland entering individual riders, the number of nations represented at the Longines EEF Series CSIO3* at Gorla Minore, Varese, Italy from Friday 23 to Sunday 25 April has now reached fourteen.

The majority of the 127 competing horses are already stabled at the Equieffe Equestrian Centre, since many took part in the CSI3*, held last week.  That event concluded with the Grand Prix victory of the Italian champion, Piergiorgio Bucci. The remaining horses are expected today.

The 73 competitors entered for the CSIO3* include some of Europe’s most promising young stars. Each nation must now present a team with at least one Under-25 representative; but the Federations have additionally seized the opportunity to develop Amazons and upcoming riders provided by the Longines EEF Series Events.

The line-up is notable. Guido Klatte Jr. from Germany, an Under-25 athete, has already earned a place in the First Team. German rider Richard Vogel and British rider Georgia Tame are also names to watch along with Sanne Thijssen from the Netherlands, who will be representing her country with her father Leon. Two young Italian riders, who have already shown great promise, are the Under-25 Guido Franchi, and the Under-21 Giacomo Casadei, the current Olympic Youth Champion.
In this first leg of the Longines EEF Series, the latest recruits to the European equestrian scene will compete alongside Show Jumping legend John Whitaker of Great Britain and other riders of vast international experience. They include José María Larocca from Argentina, Hans-Dieter Dreher  from Germany, Laura Renwick from Great Britain, Shane Breen and Billy Twomey from Ireland, Wout-Jan Van Der Schans from the Netherlands and Spanish rider Sergio Alvarez Moya.

The host country is strongly represented with a total of sixteen Italian riders. Headed by Chef d’Equipe Marco Porro, the team consists of Antonio Alfonso, Piergiorgio Bucci, Emanuele Camilli, Antonio Garofalo and Guido Franchi (Under-25).

The Event commences with the CSIO3*, next Friday. The Longines EEF Nations Cup will take place on Saturday (from 11.30am) with riders from Argentina, Austria, France, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland and Italy. The Grand Prix will conclude the Event on Sunday (from 3pm).

Current Master List – CLICK HERE

Starting Orders and Results on Longines Timing – CLICK HERE